Quick Info

19.89 million
Kwacha (MWK)
Time zone:
CAT (UTC +2)

More about Malawi

Country Information

Malawi, also called “The Warm Heart of Africa,” is a landlocked nation in southeast Africa that shares borders with Tanzania, Zambia, and Mozambique. Migrations of Bantu tribes settled it in the tenth century, and the British colonized it in 1891. Malawi, formerly known as Nyasaland and a protectorate of the UK, was made a protectorate within the loosely confederated Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland in 1953; this relationship ended in 1963. A year later, Nyasaland was renamed Malawi and attained independence under Queen Elizabeth II. Two years later, it attained independence and became a republic.

The Bantu people moved across Africa and into Malawi for hundreds of years until the fifteenth century, and many of the Malawians living there today are descended from them. Malawi is a country that welcomes everyone who wants to experience the unparalleled combination of environment, wildlife, and culture in one of Africa’s most beautiful and diverse countries.


The Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ), a low-pressure area within the Congo basin caused by tropical high-pressure areas over both the Indian and Atlantic Oceans and the Congo Air Boundary (CAB), which is controlled by sea surface temperature (SST) anomalies like the Indian Ocean Dipole (IZOD) and El Nio/Southern Oscillation (ENSO) system, has a significant impact on the region’s climate.

Malawi has two distinct seasons: the cool dry season, which lasts from May to October and averages around 13°C in June and July, and the hot, rainy season, which lasts from November to April and averages temperatures between 30° and 35°C. Depending on altitude, rainfall varies and ranges from 600 mm annually for the rift valley floors to 1600 mm for the mountainous regions. The complex topography that results in deflections of moisture-bearing winds that cause precipitation and rain-shadow effects in various terrains is what causes local variations in rainfall.


Due to its numerous tribes, including the Yao, the Nyanja, the Maravi, and the Tumbuka in northern regions, with the Chewa being the largest, Malawi has an incredibly diverse culture.

Each tribe has had an impact on Malawi’s contemporary culture, whether it be through dress, dance, or language. The most well-known dance and ceremony, the Gule Wamkulu, performed by the Nyau of the Chewa, uses tribally specific masks frequently.


Fish and tea are staples of Malawian cuisine, along with other key ingredients like sugar, coffee, corn, potatoes, sorghum, cattle, and goats. Fish from Lake Malawi include chambo, which is similar to bream, usipa, which is similar to sardine, mpasa, which is similar to salmon, and kampango. Nsima, a staple made from ground corn and served with dishes of meat and vegetables on the side, is a meal that can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.